12-Week / First Trimester Update

Holy moly, its been quite some time since I last posted.  I’ve got QUITE a few things queued up but between the end of the school year and work being an absolute ZOO the past few weeks, I just haven’t had time to finish them up and hit “publish”.

Much writing.  Such productive.

In the next few weeks I’ll make an effort to wrap those up and get them out.  We’ve got some food, some makeup stuff, some general stuff, essentially a little bit of everything that I wanted to hit on the content make-up of this blog.  Woohoo!  I also do have a quick update on my SneakPeek test (a follow-up, and results! however in/accurate they may wind up being) and a few other baby-gender things while we wait to find out what the Nugget is, definitively.

But for now, I’m just going to do a quick first-trimester overview: how I’ve been feeling, how Baby’s been doing, and generally my experiences with pregnancy so far since this is my first go!  I just hit the 12-week mark today according to Nugget’s first measurement, though according to yesterday’s ultrasound the Nugget is measuring 12 and 4.  Close enough.  They’re keeping my due date January 10 since the difference is so close, so it looks like one way or another we’ll have an early January baby – which is what I was hoping for all along!  Everyone I’ve ever met who has a birthday as close to Christmas as we were originally tracking (December 29/30) has absolutely hated their birthday, so having a due date decidedly after the holiday is a-ok with me.

(Baby is also apparently the size of an apricot, hence the header for today’s post.)

Speaking of ultrasounds, we had our first-trimester scan yesterday and HO BOY is that a wiggly baby in there.  My doctors’ office told me to be sure I ate before I came in so that Baby’d be moving around and they could see everything.

Baby apparently took that and RAN WITH IT.

The ultrasound tech had us in there for a full hour just trying to get good measurements on the few things she definitely needed to get.  I have to go back in next week for a follow-up because she wasn’t happy with what she got.  Nugget would sit like they were going to cooperate, and then…nope.  Flip over.  Hands in front of face.  Karate chop. When I talked to the office to reschedule, the woman on the phone said “well, I hope Baby is willing to move around for us next week!”  Lady, you apparently haven’t heard.  I have the wiggliest worm of a baby that ever was.  Lack of movement is NOT the issue here.

I’m still taking Diclegis religiously to get through days puke-free because otherwise, I am a nauseous wreck.  I’ve lost just about 10 lbs since before getting pregnant, which my doctor is obviously not thrilled about because I’m on the skinny side to begin with, but hopefully the nausea should be winding down this week or next.  (Fingers crossed.)  Fatigue is…ha.   I can barely stay up past 11 if I force it, which my husband is just…so in love with.  It certainly doesn’t help that I’ve been run ragged on both ends, but again, that should be wrapping up as I finish out the 1st trimester so…we’ll see.

Overall, I guess I’m not feeling too terrible.  Decidedly not great, but it no longer feels like I have a constant hangover – just a periodic one.  I’m excited to clear the first trimester and see if things actually improve, because so far I’ve just felt so blah for this entire pregnancy.  I’m exhausted and the heat doesn’t help in the least.  I think that’s the biggest thing I’d like to get back, is just any semblence of real energy rather than just feeling drained all the time.

Hell, I know it’ll all be worth it, but still.  I can’t take constant naps, much as Baby seems to wish I could!

Leave a Reply

